Wordfence Intelligence Weekly WordPress Vulnerability Report (March 4, 2024 to March 10, 2024)

Wordfence Intelligence Weekly WordPress Vulnerability Report (March 4, 2024 to March 10, 2024) 🎉 Did you know we’re running a Bug Bounty Extravaganza again? Earn over 6x our usual bounty rates, up to $10,000, for all vulnerabilities submitted through May 27th, 2024 when you opt to have Wordfence handle responsible disclosure! Last week, there were 72 vulnerabilities disclosed in 55 WordPress Plugins and 2 WordPress Themes that have been added to the Wordfence Intelligence Vulnerability Database, and there were 21 Vulnerability Researchers that contributed to WordPress Security last week. Review those vulnerabilities in this report now to ensure your site is not affected. Our mission with Wordfence Intelligence is to make valuable vulnerability information easily accessible to everyone, like the WordPress community, so individuals and organizations alike can utilize that data to make the internet more secure. That is why the Wordfence Intelligence user interface, vulnerability API, webhook integration, and Wordfence CLI Vulnerability Scanner are all completely free to access and utilize both personally and commercially, and why we are running this weekly vulnerability report. Enterprises, Hosting Providers, and even Individuals can use the Wordfence CLI Vulnerability Scanner to run regular vulnerability scans across the sites they protect. Or alternatively, utilize the vulnerability Database API to receive a complete dump of our database of over 14,000 vulnerabilities and then utilize the webhook integration to stay on top of the newest vulnerabilities added in real-time, as well as any updates made to the database, all for free . Click here to sign-up for our mailing list to receive weekly vulnerability reports like this and important WordPress Security reports in your inbox the moment they are published. New Firewall Rules Deployed Last Week The Wordfence Threat Intelligence Team reviews each vulnerability to determine impact and severity, along with assessing the likelihood of exploitation, to verify that the Wordfence Firewall provides sufficient protection. The team rolled out enhanced protection via firewall rules for the following vulnerabilities in real-time to our Premium, Care, and Response customers last week: Malware Scanner <= 4.7.2 and Web Application Firewall <= 2.1.1 – Unauthenticated Privilege Escalation Wordfence Premium, Care, and Response customers received this protection immediately, while users still running the free version of Wordfence will receive this enhanced protection after a 30 day delay. Total Unpatched & Patched Vulnerabilities Last Week Patch Status Number of Vulnerabilities Patched 60 Unpatched 12 Total Vulnerabilities by CVSS Severity Last Week Severity Rating Number of Vulnerabilities Medium Severity 59 High Severity 12 Critical Severity 1 Total Vulnerabilities by CWE Type Last Week Vulnerability Type by CWE Number of Vulnerabilities Improper Neutralization of Input During Web Page Generation ('Cross-site Scripting') 26 Missing Authorization 19 Improper Neutralization of Script-Related HTML Tags in a Web Page (Basic XSS) 8 Deserialization of Untrusted Data 6 Information Exposure 3 Improper Access Control 2 Authorization Bypass Through User-Controlled Key 1 Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF) 1 Improper Control of Filename for Include/Require Statement in PHP Program ('PHP Remote File Inclusion') 1 Improper Input Validation 1 Incorrect Authorization 1 Insufficient Verification of Data Authenticity 1 Relative Path Traversal 1 Unrestricted Upload of File with Dangerous Type 1 Researchers That Contributed to WordPress Security Last Week Researcher Name Number of Vulnerabilities 16 14 13 7 5 3 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Are you a security researcher who would like to be featured in our weekly vulnerability report? You can responsibly disclose your WordPress vulnerability discoveries to us and earn a bounty on in-scope vulnerabilities through our Bug Bounty Program. Responsibly disclosing your vulnerability discoveries to us will also get your name added on the Wordfence Intelligence leaderboard along with being mentioned in our weekly vulnerability report. WordPress Plugins with Reported Vulnerabilities Last Week Software Name Software Slug affiliate-toolkit – WordPress Affiliate Plugin affiliate-toolkit-starter Appointment Booking Calendar — Simply Schedule Appointments Booking Plugin simply-schedule-appointments Auto Refresh Single Page auto-refresh-single-page Blue Triad EZAnalytics blue-triad-ezanalytics Booster Elite for WooCommerce booster-elite-for-woocommerce Booster for WooCommerce woocommerce-jetpack Build & Control Block Patterns – Boost up Gutenberg Editor control-block-patterns Change Memory Limit change-memory-limit Colibri Page Builder colibri-page-builder Contact Form Plugin by Fluent Forms for Quiz, Survey, and Drag & Drop WP Form Builder fluentform Database for Contact Form 7, WPforms, Elementor forms contact-form-entries Droit Elementor Addons – Widgets, Blocks, Templates Library For Elementor Builder droit-elementor-addons Easy Accordion – Best Accordion FAQ Plugin for WordPress easy-accordion-free Easy!Appointments easyappointments EmbedPress – Embed PDF, Google Docs, Vimeo, Wistia, Embed YouTube Videos, Audios, Maps & Embed Any Documents in Gutenberg & Elementor embedpress EventPrime – Events Calendar, Bookings and Tickets eventprime-event-calendar-management FeedWordPress feedwordpress File Manager wp-file-manager File Manager Pro wp-file-manager-pro Happy Addons for Elementor happy-elementor-addons HT Easy GA4 – Google Analytics WordPress Plugin ht-easy-google-analytics JM Twitter Cards jm-twitter-cards Logo Showcase Ultimate – Logo Carousel, Logo Slider & Logo Grid logo-showcase-ultimate Maintenance Mode hkdev-maintenance-mode MasterStudy LMS WordPress Plugin – for Online Courses and Education masterstudy-lms-learning-management-system Metform Elementor Contact Form Builder metform Orbit Fox by ThemeIsle themeisle-companion Otter Blocks PRO – Gutenberg Blocks, Page Builder for Gutenberg Editor & FSE otter-pro Page Builder Sandwich – Front End WordPress Page Builder Plugin page-builder-sandwich Page Builder: Pagelayer – Drag and Drop website builder pagelayer Password Protected Store for WooCommerce password-protected-woo-store PDF Invoices and Packing Slips For WooCommerce pdf-invoices-and-packing-slips-for-woocommerce Post Form – Registration Form – Profile Form for User Profiles – Frontend Content Forms for User Submissions (UGC) buddyforms Post Grid, Slider & Carousel Ultimate – with Shortcode, Gutenberg Block & Elementor Widget post-grid-carousel-ultimate Premium Addons Pro for Elementor premium-addons-pro Prime Slider – Addons For Elementor (Revolution of a slider, Hero Slider, Ecommerce Slider) bdthemes-prime-slider-lite Product Carousel Slider & Grid Ultimate for WooCommerce woo-product-carousel-slider-and-grid-ultimate Restaurant Reservations nd-restaurant-reservations Royal Elementor Addons and Templates royal-elementor-addons Schema Pro wp-schema-pro Simple Membership simple-membership Simple Restrict simple-restrict SiteOrigin Widgets Bundle so-widgets-bundle Social Sharing Plugin – Sassy Social Share sassy-social-share SportsPress – Sports Club & League Manager sportspress TeraWallet – Best WooCommerce Wallet System With Cashback Rewards, Partial Payment, Wallet Refunds woo-wallet Testimonial Slider testimonial-slider-and-showcase The Plus Addons for Elementor the-plus-addons-for-elementor-page-builder Ultimate Member – User Profile, Registration, Login, Member Directory, Content Restriction & Membership Plugin ultimate-member User Registration – Custom Registration Form, Login Form, and User Profile WordPress Plugin user-registration Vimeography: Vimeo Video Gallery WordPress Plugin vimeography WooCommerce Add to Cart Custom Redirect woocommerce-add-to-cart-custom-redirect WP Chat App wp-whatsapp WP-Members Membership Plugin wp-members WPKoi Templates for Elementor wpkoi-templates-for-elementor WordPress Themes with Reported Vulnerabilities Last Week Software Name Software Slug Blocksy blocksy Total total Vulnerability Details Please note that if you run the Wordfence plugin on your WordPress site, with the scanner enabled, you should’ve already been notified if your site was affected by any of these vulnerabilities. If you’d like to receive real-time notifications whenever a vulnerability is added to the Wordfence Intelligence Vulnerability Database, check out our Slack and HTTP Webhook Integration, which is completely free to utilize. As a reminder, Wordfence has curated an industry leading vulnerability database with all known WordPress core, theme, and plugin vulnerabilities known as Wordfence Intelligence. This database is continuously updated, maintained, and populated by Wordfence’s highly credentialed and experienced vulnerability researchers through in-house vulnerability research, vulnerability researchers submitting directly to us through our Bug Bounty Program, and by monitoring varying sources to capture all publicly available WordPress vulnerability information and adding additional context where we can. Click here to sign-up for our mailing list to receive weekly vulnerability reports like this and important WordPress Security reports in your inbox the moment they are published.

This content was originally published here.